

AUSTRALIANA SOCIETY

ABN 13 402 033 474 www.australiana.org

Minutes of Annual General Meeting

National Trust Centre, Observatory Hill Sydney NSW 6:00 pm, Wednesday 19 June 2019

Present

Peter Towson, David Bedford, Elspeth Westwood, Wendy Barnett, Graham Barnett, John Wade, Gail Darby, Barbara Wheatley, Zeny Edwards, Andrew Jackson, Mary Sutton, Lynda Summers, Robert Stevens, Ian Southwell, Gay Horsburgh, Norma Courtney, Jim Bertouch, Jenifer Bedford, Annett Blinco, Bill Blinco, George Lawrence, Andrew Simpson, Tim Cha, Christine Erratt, Lesley Garrett, Judy Higson, Ian Higson, Michel Reymond, Paul Simadas, Colin Thomas

Apologies

Robin Hunt, Anna Denton, Jolyon Warwick James, Liz Maclaine, Adam Kempton, Lourdes St George, Paul Donnelly, Peter Watts, Annabel Tyson, Warwick Risby, Kathyrn Gong, Phillip Black, Jan Stanwell, John Taylor, Vera Taylor, Christine Lynette Dippy, Margaret Carlisle, Les Carlisle, Troy McDonald, Peter David Lane, Bruce Heiser, Paul Thannhauser, Graham Hesse, Robert Fredman, Dianne Byrne, Bernard Begley, Carol Westmore, Gemma Webberley, Ron Erratt, Brett Manley, Sarah Loxton Guest, Robert LaNauze, Bill Cullen, Terence Lane, Carol Hinton, Scott Carlin, Phillip Wheatley, Robert John Henley Read onto record by Secretary Lynda Summers, seconded Tim Cha

Proxy Votes Tabled: The Secretary noted the receipt of a number of proxy votes received in favour of the Special resolution. All votes have been validated.

Acceptance Moved: David Bedford, Seconded Colin Thomas

Confirmation of Minutes of AGM 2018

Minutes amended to record that Michel Reymond was in attendance.

Moved: Michel Reymond, Seconded Robert Stevens

President's Report 2019

Prepared and read by Jim Bertouch (as previously published)

Proposed for adoption: Annette Blinco

Seconded: Judy Higson

Treasurer's Report FYE Dec 2018

Tabling of the Society's financial information for the year to 31 December 2019

Prepared and tabled by George Lawrence Proposed for adoption: Michel Reymond

Seconded: Andrew Simpson

Election of Committee Members for 2018/19

Several committee members have decided to retire, and an acknowledgement of their sterling service and contribution was noted. Several committee members have decided to stand again for another year, 2019-20. It was noted that after receipt of nominations two committee vacancies exist and nominations were called from the floor by the President. No further nominations were received. Valid nominations were previously received, and the following positions have been filled unopposed:

President: Jim Bertouch Vice-president: Tim Cha Treasurer: George Lawrence Secretary: Lynda Summers

Members: Andy Simpson, Michel Reymond, Phillip Black, Katrina Banyai, Barbara Wheatley, Kathryn

Gong

Resolved to accept nomination s and election as above

Moved Lynda Summers, Seconded Andy Simpson

Special Resolution

That within 28 days of the AGM, the Society's committee commence an organisation wide review of the Constitution and established structures, processes and procedures of the Australiana Society to:

- 1. Ensure the Society is fit for the future, in its vision, goals, process and procedures
- 2. Ensure the Society is organisationally compliant with the Constitution and the legislation that governs its operation
- 3. Identify members interests, benefits and desired improvements to the Society's activities

A preamble and explanatory notes had previously been circulated to the membership regarding the special resolution.

Moved: Colin Thomas, Seconded David Bedford.

Resolved unanimously (In excess of 75% required).

There being no further business the meeting closed at 6.40pm